The Magical Atmosphere of an Airport

There is something very atmospheric about airports – that air of excitement and anticipation buzzing around you in an almost dreamlike sense, softened and hazed by the white noise hum of machines and itercoms. I find it very soothing, very comforting, and of course exciting, and honestly… a little envy inspiring!

My folks returned home from a short trip to China this weekend and I headed to the airport to pick them up. I went a little early so I could justify chowing down on a coffee and donut while I waited. I took a walk around our small international airport, watching families greeting one another (had a bit of a Love Actually moment watching all those loving individuals hugging and kissing!), and soaking up the feeling of travel – be it returning from a journey or embarking on one, it’s always exciting!

Leave a Reply

